Home > Google, Lifestyle, mac, Security, Technology, Uncategorized, Windows > Fake Antivirus A Gold Mine For Thieves

Fake Antivirus A Gold Mine For Thieves

CNET is reporting a growing problem uncovered by Google on the web, fake antivirus pop ups. This article caught my eye because I experienced this very same pop-up just the other day on my Mac. I remember clicking a link and suddenly my browser window was gone, replaced by my Windows Security window. When that popped up I was like, what the heck? I don’t have Windows, I’m on a Mac! It took about five seconds to realize that this was a malware program. What caught my eye was the way these jokers made the window look just like the Windows interface. I simply shut the offending window and went on about my business, good thing I wasn’t on a Windows machine. Follow the link to CNET for the full article and details, it’s worth ten minutes to check it out.

~TechnoNoob~

picture from bleepingcomputer.com

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

