iPhone 4 Review

So it’s been several weeks since my last post and a lot has happened in the tech world since then. The biggest thing of course has been the release of iPhone 4. Well, TechnoNoob has finally got his mitts on one (we low budget tech blogs don’t get test products, bummer). At any rate I know there are tons of reviews, unboxings, videos etc. etc. on iPhone 4 already but I’m here to offer my own two cents.

Let’s start with the hardware first. The phone is solid, sleek and beautiful all at once, holding and looking at it gives you assurance that your coin was well spent. The glass front and back are absolutely  stunning! One complaint I have, which I had with 3Gs as well, is the way the phone slips off any surface you place it on. Of course a nice rubber case will solve the problem, but I hate cases, I can live with the problem. The “Retina” display is eye popping! Comparing my 3Gs to the 4 side by side it’s easy to see the improvement in screen quality. As a matter of fact some of my 3Gs wallpapers that looked great on my 3Gs  look grainy on the 4 because the resolution is so much better. Another improvement on the phone, a complaint I had on the 3Gs, is the volume control. I like the separate buttons for up and down volume better than the 3Gs’s rocker style volume control a small but great change.

Software isn’t really all different from the 3Gs with iOS4. You have folders, multi-tasking and zoom control on the camera. However some changes that are welcome and very useful are the front facing camera, HD rear camera and flash. Pictures on the iPhone 4 are much crisper than the 3Gs and video is simply amazing. The flash really works well for close ups at night, if you expect to take a picture half way across the room with the flash you will be disappointed. Facetime is a feature I have yet to test and will have to review at a later date.

Overall I love the iPhone 4. I think it’s the best smartphone on the market. Yesterday I sat to lunch with a friend who has an Android phone and he test drove my iPhone 4, he was much impressed. I know there have been recent issues in the news concerning the iPhone 4, namely the reception “death grip” issue. I can say that I have not had those issues with my iPhone 4 but I don’t doubt that some people have. I think your geographic location and networking traffic have a lot to do with any cell phone’s reception.

The iPhone get’s 4 out of 5 Noobs from yours truly. Why not 5 out of 5, simply put, every phone is going to have issues for someone. I have a few issues, though minor, with iPhone 4 which is why is doesn’t have a perfect score. In the end we as the users have to choose what issues we are willing to deal with and when to walk away to a different platform.

~TechnoNoob~

picture from Apple.com

original content
Copyright © 2010 The Babbling TechnoNoob

  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 12, 2010 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

